South Africa

Osaka claims second title in straight sets triumph

Third seed Naomi Osaka blew past American Jennifer Brady to claim her second Australian Open title in Melbourne on Saturday.

Osaka, who had halted Serena Williams‘ bid for a record 24th Grand Slam in the semi-finals, scored a 6-4, 6-3 win over the 25th seed.

Osaka claims fourth Grand Slam title in Melbourne

Brady put up some resistance converting two of the four break points afforded her and making the first set a tight affair but once Osaka got a sniff of victory there was no stopping her.

Osaka has now won all four of the Grand Slam finals she has contested, adding the 2021 Aussie Open to her 2019 title and the US Opens she won in 2018 and 2020. She joins Roger Federer and Monica Seles as the only players in history to win their first four Grand Slam finals.

The Japanese number one commended Brady after the match.

“We played in the semis of the US Open a couple of months ago and I told everyone that you’re going to be a problem,” Osaka told Brady at the trophy presentation.

“And I was right. It’s really incredible to me to see your growth over the past few months, it’s really cool for me to see.”

How the Australian Open was won

Jennifer Brady vs Naomi Osaka Championship Match Highlights (F) | Australian Open 2021

Osaka showed no nerves at the start, firing down two aces en route to a love hold in the opening game. 

Before the match, Osaka had pinpointed her return as the key, but she was helped out by a shaky Brady who lost her serve in the fourth game after two double faults. 

But Brady, the 22nd seed, hit back with a break and she continued to pile pressure on Osaka’s serve. 

A brilliant lob winner, showcasing her trademark athleticism, gave a 

pumped-up Brady a break point in the ninth game, but Osaka held on. 

Brady then played a sloppy game on serve tosurrender the set to Osaka, who had a 20-0 record at Melbourne Park when winning the first set.

Osaka gained a stranglehold on the match with an early break in the second set and fired down an ace to skip out to a 3-0 lead. 

Brady attempted a late rally, but a calm Osaka was not to be denied.

This century’s women’s singles champions

2021 – Naomi Osaka (JPN)

2020 – Sofia Kenin (USA)

2019 – Naomi Osaka (JPN)

2018 – Caroline Wozniacki (DEN)

2017 – Serena Williams (USA)

2016 – Angelique Kerber (GER)

2015 – Serena Williams (USA)

2014 – Li Na (CHN)

2013 – Victoria Azarenka (BLR)

2012 – Victoria Azarenka (BLR)

2011 – Kim Clijsters (BEL)

2010 – Serena Williams (USA)

2009 – Serena Williams (USA)

2008 – Maria Sharapova (RUS)

2007 – Serena Williams (USA)

2006 – Amelie Mauresmo (FRA)

2005 – Serena Williams (USA)

2004 – Justine Henin (BEL)

2003 – Serena Williams (USA)

2002 – Jennifer Capriati (USA)

2001 – Jennifer Capriati (USA)

2000 – Lindsay Davenport (USA) Protection Status

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
%d bloggers like this: